Cricket Darts



Intramural Rulebook



Darts

Cricket darts is typically played between 2, 3 or 4 players, or teams of players, although the rules do not discount more players. The goal of cricket is to be the first player to open or close all the cricket numbers and have a higher or even point total.

Cricket Numbers

Cricket uses the number 15 to 20 and the bull's-eye. To open or close a number, it must have been scored 3 times in any fashion, on one or more turns. Hitting the triple will close a number in one throw; a single and the double will open or close it in two throws or three singles will open or close it in three rows. Numbers do not have to be opened or closed in any particular order and several numbers can be hit in the same turn. A scoreboard is used to keep track of the hits on all the numbers. Hitting a number once is shown by placing a slash (/) beside the number, second hit by turning the slash to an X, and the third by a circle (O) around the X.

Scoring

The object is for a player to hit each number and the bullseye three times. Doubles count as two hits and triples as three. The first player to hit a number three times owns that number and it is said to be opened. Further hits on the opened number score that number of points (e.g. triple 20 gains 60 points) until his opponent also hits that number three times and closes it, then that number is removed from play. The double ring scores double the number's value and the treble (inner) ring scores triple the number's value. The outer bullseye ring is worth 25 points and the inner circle (or double bull) is worth 50. Once a player has opened or closed all the required numbers and bull and has equal or more points than his opponent, that player wins. Alternatively, cut-throat style scoring can be used, in which case points are undesirable; hitting a number that is opened results in points being given to any other players who do not have that number closed, and the lowest score wins.

Playing

To start the game, each player or one player from each team throws one dart. This is known as the "diddle". The player whose dart lands closest to the center goes first. Generally, if both players darts are in the same section of the bullseye or in the event of a tie, each player throws another dart until there is an obvious winner. During a player's turn, the player throws three darts. After the last dart, the player's score is totaled. Any number that has not been scored three times is considered to be open.

Example game

- Player 1 opens the game by throwing a triple 20, a single 20 and a double 18. At the end of Player 1's turn the 20 is opened and he has scored 20 points. The 18 will require one more hit to open it. The score is 20 0 (as the player hit a S20 after opening)
- Player 2 throws next and hits the triple 20, a single 20 and a triple 16. At the end of Player 2s turn the 20 is closed, but he does not score since player 1 already opened it, and the 16 is opened. The score is still 20 – 0 (as player 2 closed the 20s and hitting a number that is closed does not score. The player also opened 16.)
- Player 1 now tries to open the 18s but hits the S1 and the S4 and the S20. At the end of player 1's second turn, there is no score change. The score is still 20 – 0 (as only 15-20-Bull are used in Cricket and 20 was closed by player 2)
- Player 2 throws a triple 16, a single 19, and a double 19. At the end of player 2's second turn he has closed the 20s, opened the 16s and 19s, and has scored 48 points (triple 16). The score is 20 48 (as hit T16 after it was opened = 48)
- Player 2 can continue to score on the 16s and 19s on each of his turns until player 1 closes them

Play continues until all of the numbers have been closed. If one player/team is the only one with open numbers remaining and are also leading in points, the game can be called early as it is impossible for others to catch up.

April 2011